

## Rating Strategy Committee Appointed

South Gippsland Shire Council has appointed members to the Rating Strategy Committee at its meeting today.

The committee will focus on reviewing the rating principles and differentials with consideration of the current review of the *Local Government Act*.

Committee members were determined as follows; Frances O'Brien QC (independent non-voting chairperson), Dr. Murray Hooper, Ralph Gallagher, Barry Gilbert, David Lewis, Vincent Morfuni, Gordon Vagg, Councillor Don Hill, Councillor Maxine Kiel and Councillor Alyson Skinner.

All selected committee members have an extensive amount of experience in a range of fields that will complement the tasks required of the Committee.

South Gippsland Shire Mayor Councillor Ray Argento welcomed the new committee members.

"I would just like to thank everyone who nominated to be part of the Rating Strategy Committee. We received a number of applications that were all at a very high standard.

"This made selection difficult however it certainly was a competitive process which ensured the best committee members were selected to represent the community.

"We look forward to seeing the recommendations of the Rating Strategy Committee and learning new ways we can work in this area," said the Mayor.

Community members will be given the opportunity to comment on the findings from the Rating Strategy Committee once they have been developed.

PR2137 25/10/17