

## Council Appoints New Rating Strategy Steering Committee Member

South Gippsland Shire Council has elected Megan Knight to the Rating Strategy Steering Committee at its meeting today to fill an extraordinary vacancy.

Earlier this year Council called for applications from the community to join the Rating Strategy Steering Committee.

The committee members included; Frances O'Brien QC (independent non-voting chairperson), Dr. Murray Hooper, Ralph Gallagher, Barry Gilbert, David Lewis, Vincent Morfuni, Gordon Vagg and Councillors Don Hill, Maxine Kiel and Alyson Skinner.

However, due to the resignation of Vincent Morfuni on 16 November 2017, the Committee agreed to advertise the vacancy and encouraged previous nominees to re-apply.

Ms Knight has a background in corporate finance, information technology and strategic planning with experience in providing advice to government and organisations on rural strategy. Ms Knight is highly interested in the fair distribution of rates across the Shire.

South Gippsland Shire Mayor Councillor Lorraine Brunt supported the Council's decision in appointing Ms Knight.

"With her prior knowledge and commitment to her work, Ms Knight is a more than capable member of the committee and we are glad to have her on board.

"I would also like to thank everyone who nominated to be a part of the Rating Strategy Committee; it was a tough decision as the standard of applications was high.

"Council also looks forward to seeing the recommendations from the Rating Strategy Committee and learning new ways in which we can work on this area," said the Mayor.

PR2165 6/12/17