

## New Administrators Sworn In

Late Wednesday South Gippsland Shire Council received confirmation that the State Government had appointed the three Administrators to preside over Council until October 2021. All three Administrators were sworn in yesterday morning.

Ms Julie Eisenbise, who has been the Interim Administrator for the past few weeks, will be staying on and will lead the panel. She has been joined by Mr Christian Zahra AM and Mr Rick Brown.

Mr Zahra grew up in Traralgon and was the Member for the Federal seat of McMillan (now Monash) between October 1998 and October 2004. Among other roles he was Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development. He holds a Bachelor of Economics, a Master of Assessment and Evaluation and has been a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors since 2011.

In June 2018, Christian was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for "significant service to rural and regional development, to the advancement of Indigenous welfare, and to the Australian Parliament".

Mr Brown was a member of the RMIT Council for 13 years and director of the university's commercial company, and since 2009 has been a consultant providing policy and strategic advice. He was an adviser to Russell Savage MP and to Howard government ministers Nick Minchin and Kevin Andrews.

Acting Chief Executive Officer, Bryan Sword, swore the trio in yesterday.

"I am pleased that the ratepayers and residents of South Gippsland Shire now have some certainty about Council governance. I know that the organisation is looking forward to working with the three Administrators and achieving some great outcomes for South Gippsland," said Mr Sword.

PR2414 25/7/19