

## South Gippsland Citizenship Ceremony – Wednesday 8 December

South Gippsland Shire Council officiated Australian Citizenship for sixteen candidates during the final citizenship ceremony of 2021 on Wednesday 8 December. The new Citizens are:

- Dorothy Birks who lives in Mirboo North and was originally from New Zealand.
- Kiran Cheema-Racher who lives in Dollar and was originally from India.
- Glacy Eastwood who lives in Poowong and was originally from the Philippines.
- Philip Ede who lives in Nyora and was originally from the United Kingdom.
- Ashton Havard who lives in Mirboo North and was originally from Britain.
- Jitender Pal who lives in Korumburra and was originally from India.
- Heather Le Roy who lives in Walkerville and was originally from Northern Ireland.
- Jeanne St Ellen who lives in Mirboo North and was originally from the United States of America.
- Gordon Thompson who lives in Leongatha and was originally from England.
- Thanh Tran who lives in Foster and was originally from Vietnam.
- Haihan Zheng who lives in Leongatha and was originally from China.
- Jacqueline Cahill who lives in Bena and was originally from Britain.
- Caroline Jane Houston who lives in Nerrena and was originally from Scotland.
- Kevin Jeewoonarain who lives in Mardan and was originally from Mauritius.
- Tejus Mistry who lives in Mirboo North and was originally from Britain.

This was the first South Gippsland Citizenship Ceremony to be live streamed. This allowed family and friends unable to join in person to witness the ceremony online.

## **Quotes attributable to South Gippsland Shire Mayor Mohya Davies:**

*"It was a joy to officially welcome these wonderful people to our community as Australian Citizens."* 

For media enquiries, please contact the Communications team on 5662 9200 South Gippsland Shire Council, 9 Smith St. (Private Bag 4), Leongatha 3953 communications@southgippsland.vic.gov.au www.southgippsland.vic.gov.au

## PR2718 9/12/21