

Celebrating One Year of Emission Reductions and Cost Savings through VECO

South Gippsland Shire Council is one of 51 Victorian councils that have cut their energy bills and reduced emissions through the Victorian Energy Collaboration (VECO), a joint renewable electricity contract.

The partnership was initiated and facilitated with the Victorian Greenhouse Alliances, and is now led by Glen Eira City Council. It recognises the benefits of renewable energy for the environment and the economy.

The renewable energy is being provided by Red Energy, who is 100 per cent Australian-owned and operated by the Snowy Hydro.

The collective investment in Victorian renewables has delivered all partnering councils with cheaper electricity.

Approximately 172,000 tonnes of greenhouse gas emissions have been saved by councils in the first 12 months of the partnership, which is the equivalent of powering up to 35,000 homes or taking 66,000 cars off the road each year.

Quotes attributable to Kerryn Ellis, Chief Executive Officer at South Gippsland Shire Council:

"The project delivers 100 per cent renewable energy at a cheaper price than we were previously paying for non-renewable power. Now all of our operations are powered by renewable energy including street lights and libraries."

"Collaboration and working together with other Councils is a real positive of local government. We get more done when we work together."

"This long-term contract with Red Energy will continue to protect us and other councils from the wholesale price changes."

"South Gippsland Shire Council has saved 5.1 per cent on our electricity bill and reduced our greenhouse gas emissions by 1,588 tonnes. These savings can be redirected to critical community services we provide, and thus creating better outcomes for our community."

Participating Councils:

East Gippsland Shire Council

Greater Geelong City Council

Alpine Shire Council Glen Eira City Council Pyrenees Shire Council **Ararat Rural City Council** Golden Plains Shire Council Borough of Queenscliffe **Ballarat City Council** Hepburn Shire Council Greater Shepparton City Council Banyule City Council Horsham Rural City Council South Gippsland Shire Council Bass Coast Shire Council Indigo Shire Council Southern Grampians Shire Council Baw Baw Shire Council Loddon Shire Council Stonnington City Council Greater Bendigo City Council Macedon Ranges Shire Council Strathbogie Shire Council **Brimbank City Council** Manningham City Council Surf Coast Shire Council **Buloke Shire Council** Maribyrnong City Council Swan Hill Rural City Council Campaspe Shire Council Maroondah City Council Rural City of Wangaratta Council Cardinia Shire Council Melton City Council Warrnambool City Council Central Goldfields Shire Council Mildura Rural City Council Wellington Shire Council Colac Otway Shire Council Moira Shire Council Whitehorse City Council **Greater Dandenong City Council** Monash City Council Whittlesea City Council **Darebin City Council** Moonee Valley City Council Wodonga City Council

Mount Alexander Shire Council

Murrindindi Shire Council

Wyndham City Council

Yarra Ranges Council