

# New Mayor and Deputy Mayor elected

At yesterday's Council Meeting, Councillor Clare Williams was elected Mayor of South Gippsland Shire. Councillor Nathan Hersey was elected Deputy Mayor.

Mayor Williams and Deputy Mayor Hersey will remain in these positions until the next Council election which is expected to occur on 26 October, 2024.

# Quote attributable to Councillor Clare Williams, Mayor South Gippsland Shire Council:

"I want to express my gratitude to my fellow Councillors, I feel a profound sense of humility and I'm honoured to have been entrusted to leading Council for this term. I would like to take this opportunity to commend Councillor Hersey for his work as Mayor this past year, setting an example of what excellent leadership looks like. I am eager to embark on the journey ahead and engage with our fantastic community in all its challenges and opportunities."

# Quote attributable to Councillor Nathan Hersey, Deputy Mayor South Gippsland Shire Council:

"I am privileged and honored to have been elected by our Councillors as Deputy Mayor for the final year of this Council term.

I am looking forward to further contributing to South Gippsland as a Councillor, whilst also contributing in an important leadership role.

Together, we will work to support and represent our community whilst delivering tangible results."

# Quote attributable to Kerryn Ellis, Chief Executive Officer South Gippsland Shire Council:

"It is gratifying to witness Councillors express their interest in the Mayor and Deputy roles, recognising the significance of these positions to the operation of Council; this current group have excelled in fostering active community engagement and providing support to our community. I would like to thank Councillor Hersey and Councillor Williams for their commendable service in their Mayor and Deputy Mayor roles over the past year and congratulate Councillor Williams and Hersey on their well-deserved appointments. I look forward to continue to work with them closely."

# PR2857 23/11/23

For media enquiries, please contact the Communications team on 5662 9200 South Gippsland Shire Council, 9 Smith St. (Private Bag 4), Leongatha 3953 communications@southgippsland.vic.gov.au www.southgippsland.vic.gov.au