

Citizenship Ceremony – 23 April 2025

South Gippsland's newest citizens were officially welcomed at a Citizenship Ceremony held at the Council Chambers in Leongatha.

The eight conferees from New Zealand, England, United Kingdom, United States of America, Zimbabwe and North Macedonia formally pledged their commitment to Australia in front of a warm crowd of family and friends.

Our new citizens, hailing from various corners of the globe, stood side by side, representing the growing cultural tapestry of our Shire. Our new citizens include:

- Diane Dixon New Zealand
- Kenneth Dixon New Zealand
- Ruth Hamilton England
- Bertram Trow United Kingdom
- Deborah Williams United Kingdom
- Jody Page United States of America
- Vasko Cickovski North Macedonia
- Charles Kagonda Zimbabwe

Quotes attributable to South Gippsland Shire Mayor, John Schelling:

"Becoming an Australian citizen is a momentous occasion, especially for those who have chosen to settle in our beautiful region, South Gippsland. We warmly welcome our newest citizens and celebrate their decision to embrace Australia as their new homeland. Congratulations on your commitment and the exciting journey ahead."

From left to right:

Photo 1 – Mayor John Schelling, Kenneth Dixon, Diane Dixon, Jody Page, Ruth Hamilton, Charles Kagonda, Vasko Cickovski, Bertram Trow, Deborah Williams and Councillor Bron Beach.

PR2969 24/04/25