Skip to content Skip to search Skip to main navigation

Local Government Elections

Ordinary council elections are conducted on the fourth Saturday in October and are held on a four year basis. The South Gippsland Shire Council’s next general election will be held on Saturday 22 October 2016, at which time all nine Councillor positions will be decided for a four year term.

The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) will be conducting the election on behalf of Council via postal voting. All voters will receive their ballot papers in the mail between Tuesday 4 October and Thursday 6 October 2016.

The close of postal voting deadline is 6pm on Friday 21 October 2016.
More information about the local government elections can be found on the Victorian Electoral Commission website.