Skip to content Skip to search Skip to main navigation

School Crossings

School Crossings in South Gippsland

School crossing supervisors have a much-valued role in our community, helping children and parents cross the road safely during peak school times.

With 14 primary schools and seven secondary colleges in South Gippsland, it's important that we all play our part in slowing down and staying below the required 40 kilometres per hour speed limit in school zones. When parking in a school area, remember to avoid parking 20 metres in front of, or 10 metres behind, a school crossing while the flags are displayed, unless otherwise signed.

South Gippsland Shire Council monitors school crossings to ensure the safety of pedestrians and students attending schools within the municipality. School crossing supervisors are allocated to schools on a need's basis. Supervisors are funded by South Gippsland Shire Council, with some funding coming from VicRoads.

Our school crossing supervisors brave all sorts of weather to assist pedestrians in South Gippsland. They include permanent part-time and relief staff.

School crossings are located in the following locations:

Supervised Crossings

  • Leongatha — Ogilvy Street, Nerrena Road, Horn Street and Brumley Street.
  • Korumburra — Mine Road, Princes Street and Bridge Street.
  • Mirboo North — Ridgway.
  • Foster — Station Road.
  • Meeniyan — McKitterick Street.
  • Fish Creek — Foster Road.

Unsupervised Crossings

  • Nyora — Grundy Avenue.
  • Poowong — Main Street / Ranceby Road.
  • Mirboo North — Balook Street.
  • Korumburra — Bridge Street.